Caramelised Cinnamon Palmiers Recipe

Influenced by all the palmiers we have been eating in Belgium and Spain I decided to have a go at making them. Especially as in Portugal (where we are now, you can check out my travel blog here) they aren’t as crispy and caramelised.

They are insanely simple. I don’t think I have ever made anything as delicious so quickly!

All you need is:

Half a mug of Sugar
3 table spoonfuls ofButter, melted
Cinnamon to taste
A sheet of Puff Pastry

Most recipes say to make sure to use all butter pastry and the best quality you can find. But I’m in Portugal and they like their marge ( yuk!) in their pastry. I was a little worried I wouldn’t get the same effect but you use so much butter that they taste delicious anyway! 🙂

Preheat the oven to 200c and line a baking sheet.

Mix the sugar and cinnamon into the melted butter to form a paste.
Spread the paste over the sheet of pastry.
Roll the pastry, like a scroll, from each side to meet in the middle. I rolled along the long edge for little palmiers, if you roll the other way you’ll get big ones.
Slice the palmiers off as delicately as you can to avoid squashed ones. I sliced them about 1cm thick.

20140502-173200.jpg

Place on the baking tray. I shaped mine into hearts but that was pointless because they puff up… Don’t they look sweet though?

20140502-173402.jpg

Bake for 10-15mins or until golden.

20140502-173556.jpg

Once ready get them off the tray to cool and try not to eat them all in one go 😉

20140502-173647.jpg

Leave a Reply

