The Most Delicious Orangey Orange Sponge Recipe

I can’t believe I just wrote this whole blog post and accidentally deleted it. How do yo regain all the enthusiasm after that? Thats a genuine question people!

And I’ve already finished the slice of cake.

It was delicious. Well, I already said that. Even after being frozen, ganache and all. This recipe was chosen for the bottom layer of the wedding cake and seeing as I made a cake for 150 guests, when there were only 34, there are lots of leftovers.

When bride asked for a light fluffy orange cake I instantly thought of the orange chiffon cake I successfully made without using a ring tin. It involved cooling the cake upside down which would be impossible in my new multiway tin, I can’t imagine trying to flip that upside down without all the pieces going flying. And you have to line them. So I looked for a recipe that didn’t involve the prospect of flying or holy cake. He he.

It was an utter failure.
It came out the oven 4″ tall and fell before my very eyes. Heart breaking.

Still tasted good though.

20140516-184544.jpg

Anyway I scrapped that idea and remembered a great Mary Berry recipe using a whole orange. Thats right, the whole thing! It makes the most amazingly light, full flavoured, moist cake ever. Cover that in chocolate ganache and where can you possibly go wrong?

Well, with the photography. I’m sorry. But I’m sticking to my Starting Again rules and I truly hope this photo doesn’t put people off the recipe because it would me. So much for not judging a book by its cover!

20140516-184859.jpg

It probably didn’t help that I made the ganache two days before putting it on this cake. It was for the sad looking one. Still tasted great though!

The Recipe

The original recipe calls for spices and an orange filling which I left out. It also has a better picture 😉

1 small thin-skinned orange
275g self-raising flour
3 level tsp baking powder
275g caster sugar
225g butter, softened
4 eggs

” Preheat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas 4. Grease and base-line two deep 20cm tins with greased greaseproof paper.

Place the whole orange in a small saucepan, cover with boiling water and simmer until soft, about 20 minutes. Set aside to cool.

When the orange is soft and cold, cut in half and remove any pips. Process the whole orange, including the skin, until medium chunky. (…) Add the remaining cake ingredients and blend until smooth. Avoid overmixing. Divide the mixture evenly between the two tins.

Bake in the preheated oven for 25-30 minutes.

Leave to cool in the tins for a few moments, then turn out, peel off the paper and finish cooling on a wire rack. ”

I’m not about to mess around with Mary Berry’s wording. She’s been writing recipes since before I was born after all!

For the chocolate ganache use equal amounts of chocolate and double cream. You can decide how much leftover you want 😉 I’d use 200g of each. Make sure its all good quality! Thats the secret to good ganache.

Break the chocolate into small pieces.
Heat the cream separately until just simmering and pour it over the chocolate.
Stir to melt.
Cool.

You can now choose whether to cool it and then whip it or pour it over for a glossy finish. But then your going to have to worry about the filling. Make half at a time and whip one for filling and pour the topping?

Here are some great tips on ganache.

Leave a Reply

