Delicious Veggie Tacos Recipe

I’ve decided to share savoury dishes too! All good food deserves to be on The Goody Blog after all.

My uncle is Columbian and has introduced a love for Mexican food in the family. One of my favourite things to do when I first moved to England alone at 17 was to go to my aunt and uncles for wraps with tones of guacamole! We had tacos rarely as they are more fiddly I suppose… Another good dish was tortilla chips with all the wrap condiments piled on top, covered with cheese and heated until melted in the oven. Mmm! Kind of like greedy tacos actually!

Anyway, here are my tacos and my first try at making them vegetarian.

IMG_2005-0.JPG

If you want a meaty version its really easy, just get some minced beef, for example, and chuck it in with the onions and garlic after the spices.

This makes enough for about 6 tacos – Its how much I made just for myself, the beans taste even better the next day and keep absolutely fine! I had tacos two times in a row and then finished off the beans with fried plantain and guacamole on the 3rd day. I still could have had it again. I did add a bit more spice to it each day so it wasn’t exactly the same.

Ingredients

1 onion
Couple of cloves of garlic
1tbs coriander powder or crushed seeds
1tbs cumin powder or crushed seeds
1-2tsp chilli powder or fresh chilli
1-2tsp of paprika
2 fresh plum tomatoes, the riper the better, cut into small pieces
400g cannellini beans, or any beans of choice – I would have loved black beans
4 big mushrooms
1tbs tomato concentrate
Olive oil
Salt and pepper
Grated cheese

Salad and avocado to serve

Fry the onions until browning in a bit of oil, add the garlic and fry some more before adding the spices. Cook them until aromatic.

IMG_1990.JPG

Add the tomatoes and cook for a few mins.

IMG_1991.JPG

Add the beans.

IMG_1996.JPG

Then the mushrooms, not that it matters which way round actually.

IMG_1997.JPG

Taste the sauce and if its not rich enough add the tomato concentrate, spice it up a bit more if you like and add salt and pepper to taste. A bit of dark chocolate can be good too.
Cook it until the liquid reduces, this doesn’t take too long.
Meanwhile pop the tacos in a preheated oven at 180c upside down until they just begin to change in colour.

IMG_2013.JPG

Spoon the beans into the taco shells, balance them to keep them upright and cover in cheese. Pop them back in the oven until the cheese is nicely melted.

IMG_2001.JPG

I chose to keep my salad and guacamole on the side and stuffed it in at the end but my uncle actually puts it in the bottom of his tacos before the beans. It creates a bit of a barrier from the moisture making them less likely to break in half as you eat them. He says it doesn’t get hot but I’m skeptical… Nevertheless I shall give it a go next time when hopefully I will have black beans and the rest of the ingredients to have guacamole with them! I was missing lime, fresh coriander and some more tomato but just plain avocado is delicious too.

IMG_2002.JPG

IMG_2006.JPG

Leave a Reply

