My Best Veggie Burger to Date: Spicy Hallumi and Portabello Mushroom 

As summer draws closer, the barbecues get pulled out of their sheds and dusted off. Or just set fire to. Barbecues are all about the meat. No one can argue with that. But it doesn’t mean its all doom and gloom if your a veggie! Far from it, I find my veggie contributions often get wolfed down faster than the sausages. Which can be frustrating at times, but I take it as a compliment. Providing I get to eat some of it first!  

  
Today I’m sharing a delicious speedy mushroom burger, I admitedly didn’t actually bbq this one but I’m looking forwar to testing it out at our next one! Mushrooms are excellent for soaking up flavour and are a great quick alternative to making veggie burgers.

 Marinade slices of Hallumi and a Portabello Mushroom in smoked paprika, piri piri grains, salt, peper, olive oil and a dash of soya sauce/ tamari. The longer you leave it the better, but it still packs plenty pf flavour if you bung it all on and cook it straight away, adding the soya towards the end. Fry/Grill/BBQ until the Hallumi is golden and the mushroom slightly soft (I like a bit of bite). Pop it in a bun or a pitta bread with fillings of your choice. I fried some onions too which I had with lettuce and coleslaw.  

  

Leave a Reply

