Magic Custard Cake

We’ve all done it before, yet we will never learn. It must have been about 9pm when my serious cake craving set in and instead of eating some nuts or brushing my teeth I went on Pinterest. You can see where this is going can’t you?

Magic. Custard. Cake. 

 

The name was enough. Let alone all the pictures! I didn’t have any milk so I substituted it for coconut cream mixed with water untill it became a milky consistency. I thought the coconut flavour would come though so I added some cardamom seeds (just slit the pods and they come tumbling out) to complement it. The coconut didn’t actually come through  at all, or the cardamom over did it, I’m not sure. It had a slight green tinge to it which was pretty cool! And tasted delicious. I love cardamom and custard. Where could it go wrong?! I didn’t quite get the three layers, but I got two distinct ones, custard and a thin layer of sponge. I’m not sure what the third one was meant to be. The custard was silky smooth. Oh it was so good! I couldn’t wait the cooling time (I hadnt noticed it when until it was in the oven!) and had some warm which was so good! I ate it for breakfast the next day with nectarines and some coconut cream.


I will definitely have another go at this one, with real milk to see if I get the three layers. I’m also kind of tempted to try a sugar and dairy free version for my aunty because she loves custard even more than I do! Not entirely sure how I’d go about it though…

I halved the original recipe and baked it in a funny oval 8×5 inches tin, because it was what i had to hand. There was a little extra mixture which I put in a ramekin which worked really well! I would suggest using ramekins. I’m not certain how many you would need for the whole mix though.

Recipe adapted from PaperBlog

2 large free range eggs at room temperature, separated
1/2 tbs water
75g caster sugar
75g of butter, melted
60g of plain flour
250ml of milk/coconut cream mixed with water
Seeds of 5-6 cardamom pods

Preheat the oven to 160C/325F/ gas mark 3.
Butter your baking tin very well. Don’t be tempted to use a spring form pan as this is a very liquidbatter and it would leak out. Beat the egg whites until stiff. In a clean bowl beat together the egg yolks with the sugar, water and vanilla until light. Beat in the melted butter and beat for one minute. Beat in the flour. Add the milk and beat until it is well incorporated.Gently fold in the egg whites to combine. Pour into the prepared pan. Bake for about 60 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Allow to cool in the panfor at least 3 hours prior to serving.  If you can wait that long!

Leave a Reply

