Strawberry and Grapefruit Angel Cup Cakes

These little cakes are like sweet, tangy clouds and are pretty straight forward to make. Excellent for using up egg whites if you’ve been making the likes of custard.


I spent a little while looking at different recipes and settled on halving Eric Lanlard’s to match the amount of egg whites I had to hand. His recipe claims to make 12 but I made 9 from his half! And I filled the cases right up. Instead of using his raspberry frosting I opted for a much less sweet topping made from cream and strawberries. The grapefruit was very much a last minute addition. In fact I almost ruined the batter by the sudden inspiration that came as I added the flour, I risking Eric’s warnings of disaster and collapse, I speedily zested some grapefruit straight in. I didn’t have any almond or vanilla essence that his recipe calls for and there isn’t really much flavour in plain angel cake what with it being egg held together with sugar!  The grapefruit gave them a great tanginess, it would be fun to tinge them slightly pink next time.

Makes 9

60g of plain flour
40g icing sugar
1/2 tbs of cream of tartar
4 egg whites
Pinch of salt
75g of golden caster sugar
Zest of one grapefruit

300ml double cream
200g strawberries, finely chopped

Preheat the oven to 200c/gas mark 6 and line a cupcake tin with paper cases.

Sift the flour, icing sugar and cream of tartar into a bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl whisk the egg whites until frothy. Add the salt and gradually add the golden caster sugar a tablespoon at a time. Whisk until stiff peaks form.
Stir in the zest, then add the flour and icing sugar mixture. Fold gently with a large metal spoon until combined. It is important to do this quickly- if the mixture is left to stand, it will collapse and spoil the light consistency of the cake.
Divide the mixture between the paper cases and bake for 15-20 minutes. Leave to cool for 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack and allow to cool completely.

Amazingly theres no shrinkage!

For the topping, whisk the cream to soft peaks, add a little sifted icing sugar if you like it sweet (I don’t tend to) and fold in the strawberries. Pop it in a pipping bag or just spread it over the cupcakes and top with another strawberry for a cute rustic finish.

I had fun with my pipping as I was using a new head. I still prefer my standard star nozzle though, although the wiggly ones are cool. Like whipped icecream!

 

2 thoughts on “Strawberry and Grapefruit Angel Cup Cakes

Leave a Reply

