Baked Banoffee Cheesecake Recipe 

Its been almost a year since my first banoffee cheesecake post, well, 345 days to be precise. I can definitely say I have never spent so much time perfecting a recipe but it really was worth it! If you count each individual layer I’ve made this 6 times now and am yet to have any major hiccups – so its about time I shared the final thing with you lovely people! There must be others out there that are lacking banoffee cheesecake in their life, please indulge yourself ad give this recipe a go – its pretty straight forward actually, the only fiddly bit being how I make it in separate parts and frankly if the idea of flipping a cheesecake onto a caramel covered base doesn’t take your fancy, then take a moment to celebrate your rationality and read on anyway – I have an alternative idea 🙂


As this was designed as a wedding cake I made it tiered, because as I pointed out to Alexis and Nathan one wine infused barbecue long ago “You can’t have a wedding without a tiered cake!” but feel free to only make one of the layers. I made the caramel in one batch and divided it between them, how much caramel you use is really down to taste. I normally make one tins worth like in the recipe bellow, but the last time I made it I doubled the caramel making a gorgeously thick layer so I wouldn’t worry about using the whole lot on one if you only make one layer. If it seems a bit much though, you could also use any leftovers on popcorn, over ice cream, in pancakes, on a spoon, … I wouldn’t worry about it!

As I said in one of my previous post, this is based on a Jamie Oliver recipe, I used the fantastic app Cake Omiter to work out the 7″ version. The math is beyond me. I can however manage to round the decimal points to more manageable measurements. Luckily this app doesn’t get you dividing up eggs into parts, the result being 2 eggs in each cake. I haven’t really noticed much of a difference between them, I do however pick the larger eggs for the 9″ and the smaller ones for the 7″ – but sometimes all your eggs are the same size, and that seems to work just fine. Like I said, this really isn’t a fussy recipe. I’m just covering all the angles I would pick at if I came across it. Do feel free to pester me with questions if you have any that I’ve missed!

The bananas – I used between 5 and 7, it really depends on the size of the actual bananas and how big you want the pieces. When choosing your bananas avoid any brown spotted ones and try to pick the straightest ones you can find. It makes your life slightly easier!

Recipe

Ingredients

9″ cheesecake
Base
250g digestive biscuits
150g butter, melted

Cheesecake filling- 40-45 mins in the oven
3tbs cornflour
115g caster sugar
900g cream cheese
2 eggs
115g greek yoghurt

7″ cheesecake

Base
150g digestive biscuits
90g butter, melted

Cheesecake filling- 30-35 mins in the oven
2tbs cornflour
70g caster sugar
550g cream cheese
2 eggs
70g greek yoghurt

Caramel (this can be doubled for extra deliciousness!)

1 tin of caramel
125g butter
100g sugar

About 5-7 bananas

Juice of one lemon

Double cream – optional

100g chocolate for the cage/grating over the top- optional

Dried pineapple flowers if your feeling really fancy – see this see this tutorial
If stacking you will also need cake bases (or circles of cardboard covered in tin foil) and dowel rods.

Right. Its a long list, but your actual shopping list will be surprisingly short: biscuits, butter, sugar, eggs, cheese, caramel, banana, cornflour, chocolate and cream. See? Nada!

If you have two of each tin, I envy you. You could make the cheesecakes and caramel covered bases on the same day. I don’t so I begin by making the cheesecakes, leaving them in the fridge overnight, taking them out of the tins and making the bases. Then the caramel which you ideally leave for a good couple of hours to set over the bases before covering in sliced banana and then manoeuvring the cheesecakes on top of it all.

If you want to skip this hassle, which looks pretty cool but doesn’t actually make any difference to the flavour, make the base first, bake for 10mins, cool while making the cheesecake mix, pour this over the base and bake. Cool. Make the caramel and pour it over the top. Cool. Cover in sliced banana and then for easy decoration cover in whipped cream (which will protect the banana from going brown) and grated chocolate.

I should point out I’ve never actually done it exactly this way, I cant see why it wouldn’t work just as well though. I have however left the banana out and put it on the top with cream to cover up a small cracked and sunken cheesecake issue I had due to over baking. ‘Don’t over bake your cheesecake! But don’t worry if you do.’ Is the moral of that short story.


Sorry guys.

Diversion over.

On with the actual recipe.

Make one cheesecake at a time.

Grease your tin. Preheat your oven to 200c.

Mix the cornflour and sugar together. Add the cream cheese, this can be done by hand or by electric mixer. Either works just fine, your not incorporating air, just mixing it all together, you don’t want any bubbles or you’ll get a spotty top like my first attempt! Add the eggs one at a time. Fold in the greek yoghurt and pour into the tin.

Bake for 40-45mins for 9″, or until the cheesecake filling has set around the edges, pop a piece of tin foil over the top if it starts to brown.

Once done, turn the oven off and leave it to cool inside. This reduces the chance of shrinkage or crackage.

When cool, relocate to the fridge and start making the next one.

Follow the same steps, except the 7″ only needs 30-35mins in the oven.

Leave both cheesecakes in the fridge overnight or for at least 4 or so hours.

Remove cheesecakes from their tins.

Grease the tins again. Preheat the oven to 180c.

Make one base at a time to insure they are the same depth.

Blitz the biscuits in a blender or crush them in a bag using a rolling pin. Melt the butter and mix together. Its quite a wet mix. Press it onto the bottom of the tin and bake for 10 mins. Remove and cool. Repeat with the second tin.

Make the caramel next.

Add the tin of caramel, sugar and butter to a pan at low-medium heat, bring to a boil stirring continually. Boil for a few minutes, I got mine to around 200c on a sugar thermometer but don’t worry if you don’t have one.

Divide this out between the two tins. I used a fork to test the depth of each.

Set aside to cool. The longer the better really.

Decide on a banana slice length (the thicker the banana the taller your cheesecake will be) and try to keep them all the same (probably about 2cm) and as straight as possible. This might mean eating the odd triangular piece, or keep them to fill gaps if you like. Squeeze lemon juice all over them to stop them oxidising.

Arrange the slices on top of the caramel working from the outside in. Remember its only the outside ones you will actually see and its very important to keep them even in height as the cheesecake wants a nice flat surface to sit on.
Showtime!

Now you can either lower or slide the cheesecake into the cake tins onto of the banana – this will insure that its all perfectly in line and it also means you can get away with putting it together before the caramel is totally set, although its not ideal. Or you can can take the base out of the tin and slide the cheesecake on top. I have only tried this method on with the cheesecake that had the banana on top instead of inside. I would love to hear what people try!


Now you have your cheesecakes all together and should be feeling very proud of yourself. If you have a big mess instead, which I doubt you do, but even so, remember, it will still be delicious! When in doubt cover it in cream!
To stack, slide the cheesecakes onto their cardboards, or at least the 7″, the 9″ can go straight onto your serving plate. The bases are pretty solid due to all the butter so don’t worry about this step. Cut the dowel rods so they come level with the top of the cheesecake. Don’t attempt to get through the base! I used a good 6-8 to be on the safe side. To my amazement stacking cheesecake is no harder than cake! Just a little heavier and softer hence the large amount of rods 🙂

Pop the 7″ on top of the 9″ and decoration time!!


For the wedding I made a mahendi inspired chocolate cage, if you fancy going down that route check out this previous post.


I finished it off with dried pineapple flowers which are just so cool, if I don’t say so myself and the little spontaneous kitty toppers. You might also want to check out the adventure of making all this in Greece!

Leave a Reply

